Back in May, a new Parish Council was elected.  However, it does look very similar to the previous one.  We said thank you and goodbye to Simon Dodson as he felt that work commitments that had accumulated during the various COVID 19 lockdowns would prevent him from giving the role sufficient attention.  Martin Kimber, Heather Calloway, John Cooper, David Healy, John Orchard, Vivian Roberts and Venetia Verey all stayed on but we therefore had a vacancy and looked to co-opt another member.  After following due process, Mr Nicholas Gurney-Champion has now been co-opted and has been welcomed to his first meeting.

We also welcome a new IW ward councillor, Suzie Ellis.  Due to changes in the ward boundaries, Clare Mosdell now represents Newchurch, Havenstreet and Ashey and we are  in the new Central Rural Ward, along with Gatcombe and Chillerton, Rookley and Godshill.

Parish Council meetings are held on the second Wednesday of every month at the Community Hall in Arreton at 7pm.  The exception is August, when there is no meeting.  Members of the public are always welcome and there is an opportunity at the start of every meeting to ask questions or raise issues.

Skip to content